Our Educational Concept

Study, create, inspire

Along with some of the other top schools, Charterhouse teaches students far beyond the knowledge curriculum, to equip students with the broad range of skills and qualities they will need to succeed in the future – to be ‘future ready’.

Such skills are essential because the world no longer rewards people for the information they have learned in school and the knowledge they have built up – that can all be found instantly on the internet. Instead, success today is found through what you can do with that knowledge – in how creative you are, in how well you can link up knowledge in collaboration with others. Knowledge also needs to be applied in new contexts with uncertain outcomes, because jobs with certain outcomes, with repeatable processes, are automated and handed over to computers. Instead, humans will thrive by developing the skills computers don’t have: leadership, kindness, creativity, collaboration and communication – in a globalised and international world, working across different cultures and nations.

Knowledge is still a fundamental requirement. Students with excellent subject knowledge achieve top exam results and gain access to the best universities in the world, and depth of knowledge is the foundation from which creative and inspiring work can emerge.  Yet, for students to create deep understanding, to solve problems and to apply their knowledge to achieve insight in new contexts, they need to learn a broad range of thinking and learning skills and have the opportunity through project-based learning to put them into practice.

Therefore, students at Charterhouse College learn:

  1. Knowledge of subjects across a broad and balanced curriculum – so students can achieve outstanding exam results, gain access to the best universities, lead a healthy, ethical and meaningful life, and manage their daily affairs.
  2. Skills to apply their knowledge and understanding to new contexts, and to manage relationships and uncertainty. These are skills of communication, collaboration and creativity.
  3. Fluency in English as well as Mandarin, along with an appreciation of Chinese culture and an international outlook.
  4. Character and Values to deal with change, lead others, participate positively in society, and make a meaningful difference. This will require courage, resilience and integrity.
  5. Thinking and Learning Skills to deal effectively with people, situations and their own minds. Metacognition, systems thinking, design thinking, digital literacy, project management, change management, risk management, decision-making, innovation and creativity skills are therefore taught at Charterhouse to supplement the traditional ways of knowing common to school subjects like logic, the scientific method, dialectics and evidence-based reasoning.

These five areas of learning underpin our learning and teaching, and our curriculum, and ensure our ‘future-ready’ students can study, create and inspire.

我们的教育理念

求知、创新、启迪

与其他顶级学校一样,查特豪斯教授学生远远不止是书本知识,而是要让学生具备未来成功所需的各种技能和素质,他们将能够“成就未来”。

这些技能至关重要,因为当今世界不再仅仅根据人们在学校学到的信息和积累的知识来评价人,那些都可以在互联网上即时获取。今天的成功,要看你能用这些知识来做什么——在于你有多大的创造力,在于你能否在与他人的合作中很好地把知识联系起来。知识还需要能被应用在新的不确定的情境中,因为有确定结果的工作、可重复的流程,都可以自动化然后交给计算机去做。人类要走向成功,就必须发展计算机无法具备的技能:领导力、同理心、创造力、协作和沟通——在当今全球化和国际化的世界中在跨文化、跨国的环境中工作,有了这些技能人类才能驾驭时代的浪潮。

知识依旧是对学生的基本要求。拥有优秀的学科知识的学生能够取得优异的考试成绩,并获得进入世界上顶尖大学的机会,而知识的深度是产生创造力和灵感的基础。然而,学生要想深度理解、解决问题和在新的情境中运用知识获得洞察力,他们需要掌握广泛的思维能力和学习方法,并有机会通过项目学习将其付诸实践。

因此,学生们在查特豪斯将学到:

  1. 掌握广泛而均衡的课程知识,这样学生们才能取得优异的考试成绩,进入最顶尖的大学,过上健康、高尚、有意义的生活,并能管理好自己的日常事务。
  2. 将其知识和理解应用于新环境的技能,以及管理人际关系和各种不确定性的技巧。这些都属于沟通、合作和创造的技能。
  3. 精通英语和普通话,扎根中国文化,具有国际视野。
  4. 良好的品格和价值观,能够积极应对变化、领导他人、积极参与社会活动并创造有意义的改变。这些将需要学生们具备勇气、坚韧和诚信的品质。
  5. 思维能力和学习方法,能够有效地处理人际关系、应对复杂环境和调节自己的心绪。因此,除了学校中常见的学科思维训练,如逻辑思维、科学方法、辩证方法和循证推理,查特豪斯还会教元认知、系统思维、设计思维、数字素养、项目管理、变革管理、风险管理、决策制定、创新和创造思维等。

这五个方面的学习支撑着我们学生的学习和老师的教学,贯穿我们所有课程,确保我们“成就未来”的学生都能够求知、创新和启迪。