Our Campus

Design for education

Main Entrance

Parents Reception Area

Water Mist

Sports Field

Rooftop

Canteen

Canteen Entrance

Swimming Pool

Rooftop Sports

Courtyard

Corridor

Library

Auditorium

Living Room

Teachers Office

Gym

Dancing Room

Classroom

Flag Tower

71.5, 88

68.5, 78.5

70, 68.5

68, 47

56, 35

56, 41

56, 45

59, 72

59, 79.5

53, 66.5

46, 40

44, 67.5

44, 75

29, 67.5

29, 75

12, 67.5

12, 72.5

12, 78

75.5, 45

Design for Education

Our campus is a modern school environment. It doesn’t just look good, it is designed to optimise learning. Just as Wework and the Google campuses have revolutionised the way people and companies work, so schools are rethinking their spaces to bring out the best in students, and we are at the forefront of that movement.

Learning no longer happens exclusively in the classroom. The days of students sitting in rows in front of a blackboard are a thing of the past. Our campus is designed with flexibility and plenty of flow area. Discussions can be taken outside the classroom. Students gather in small groups to collaborate and share ideas. This gives them the chance to get to grips with complex ideas while learning to collaborate and build relationships.

Throughout the campus quiet spaces are set aside for contemplation and independent learning, so that when the class gathers again as a group, the students have had the opportunity to reflect on material and gain deeper insight. This approach helps prepare young people not just for university life but the real world beyond.

Our campus is informed by the work of one of the leading futurists in educational technology, David Thornburg. He identified four archetypal learning spaces – the campfire, cave, watering hole and mountain top – that work together to boost learning outcomes. We have developed these varied and creative learning environments in our school using cutting-edge design and materials.

At Charterhouse Shenzhen, the “campfire” is the classroom where students gather to listen to their teacher, stories are told, questions are asked, and the group learns from each other. Thornburg’s notion of “cave” is found in the library spaces and quiet corners where students can withdraw from the noise of the classroom for quiet reflection, giving them the private time needed to consolidate learning. There are plenty of “watering holes” scattered around the campus, informal spaces where students can gather to share ideas and information, collaborate and learn from each other. And when students are ready to publicly demonstrate their knowledge and understanding, there is the “mountain top” – the auditorium, gallery spaces and multimedia networks.

We know that the design of learning spaces matters. Our well-designed campus allows for flexibility and student movement which in turn leads to better academic performance, improved concentration and increased social engagement.

我们的校园

专为教育设计

校园主入口

家长等候区

水雾装置

运动广场

科普屋顶

食堂

行政食堂入口

游泳池

运动屋顶

庭院

中庭

走廊

图书馆

客厅

报告厅室内

教师办公室

体育馆

舞蹈教室

教室

升旗台

71.5, 88

68.5, 78.5

70, 68.5

68, 47

56, 35

56, 41

56, 45

59, 72

59, 79.5

53, 66.5

53, 72.5

46, 40

44, 67.5

29, 67.5

44, 75

29, 75

12, 67.5

12, 72.5

12, 78

75.5, 45

专为教育设计

我们的学校拥有现代化的校园环境。它不仅外观优美,更是为了优化学习体验而设计。就像众创空间和谷歌校园彻底改变了人们和公司的工作方式一样,学校也在重新考虑他们的学习空间,以期望发挥学生的无限潜力,而我们正处于这一运动的前沿。

学习不再只发生在教室里,学生端坐在黑板前的日子已经成为过去,我们的校园设计兼具灵活性和充足的流动区域,讨论可以在教室外进行。学生们以小组形式聚集在一起进行协作与思想分享,这让他们有机会掌握一些复杂的思路,同时学会协作和建立关系。

贯穿整个校园,我们留出了用于沉思和独立学习的静谧空间,这样可以确保在整个班级再次聚集在一起之前,学生们各自有机会对学习材料进行反思,并获得更深刻的个人见解。这种方法不仅有助于让年轻人为大学生活做好准备,更为日后的现实世界做好准备。

我们的校园理念源自于教育技术领域领先的未来学家之一戴维·索恩伯格(David Thornburg)的研究成果。他确定了四大原型学习场景,即营火、洞穴、水源与山顶,它们可以共同促进学习成效。我们利用先进的设计和建筑材料,在校园中开发了这些多样化的创造性学习环境。

在深圳查特豪斯书院,“营火”是学生们聚集在一起聆听老师或专家智慧的课堂,是讲述故事、提出问题和小组成员相互学习的空间。索恩伯格的“洞穴”概念,体现在图书馆的各个空间和安静的角落里,学生可以从教室的喧嚣中抽身出来,在宁静中有所反思,给他们巩固学习的独处时间。校园里散布着大量的“水源”休闲空间,学生们可以聚集在这里分享各自的想法和四面八方的信息,相互协作和学习。而当学生准备公开展示自己的知识和理解时,学校就有“山顶”场景,包括礼堂、画廊空间和多媒体网络,给予他们展示自己的空间。

我们知道,学习空间的设计关系到学习效果。我们精心设计的校园为学生提供了灵活性和流动性,进而能帮助他们提高学业成绩,集中注意力,增加社交互动。